New feature: Harvest your Exit

Posted by: Marilou_BHVR on steam_community_announcements September 10, 2019

[img]{STEAM_CLAN_IMAGE}/32744940/cc1f140e10084160c16f259706b1df9a40087f58.jpg[/img]

Dear community,

The past few weeks have been quite busy. We’ve added a lot of content to Deathgarden, including a cosmetic vendor, the Hunt with a Friend mode, a new map, and our brand-new hunter, The Veteran.

As the game evolves, we strive to enhance the gaming experience for all our players. The community feedback we gathered during the Hunt with a Friend public playtests allowed us to tune and balance the game mode. It also allowed us to develop and test new features, such as the new matchmaking flow. Thanks to your help, we’re able to offer a distinctive gaming experience with the Hunt with a Friend mode.

Since we’re building the game future together with you, our players, we’d like to take this opportunity to introduce a new iteration of the Hunt with a Friend feature. This one differs from the past events as we’re looking into a new way to add variety and complexity into both the scavenger’s and hunter’s playstyles. The main change is in the game objectives: while the hunter goal is unchanged (i.e., kill everything that moves), scavengers must work more actively together to activate exits before the timer ends.

We call it Harvest your Exit*.

To escape the garden, scavengers must fill the Blood Banks with enough blood to transform them into exits. Instead of a global blood delivery goal, each Bank is counted separately. Delivering 55 blood at a Bank turns it into an exit when the timer expires. In the meantime, hunters must do everything in their power to kill the scavengers and to prevent them from filling Blood Banks. The dominations have been removed from the game and the Blood Mode only activates when the 8-minute timer ends

When the timer ends, scavengers are revealed as they try to escape the garden through the now open exits. If they find themselves without an exit, they still can continue to deliver blood, at their own risk as they are nonetheless revealed. During our internal playtest sessions, scavengers were able to open 2 exits per game, on average.

Our design goal is to offer players with a wider range of strategies for both scavengers and hunters while making matches feel more competitive. 

You will have the possibility to try this mode this Thursday, September 12th, from 2:30PM to 6:30PM EST (11:30AM to 3:30PM PST and 8:30PM to 12:30AM CEST), before its release in the Hunt with a Friend event on Sunday, September 15th. Your feedback matters to us: please join us, dive in and let us know how you feel about the feature.

[img]{STEAM_CLAN_IMAGE}/32744940/0ea83bf9607aa262db96eff98ec435bf87f629b3.jpg[/img]

While the feature is live on Thursday, we’ll hold a Ask Me Anything session with Matt Jackson, Deathgarden’s Design Director. From 3PM to 3:30PM EST (12PM to 12:30PM PST and 9PM to 9:30PM CEST), you will have the opportunity to ask your questions directly to Matt on Twitch and Youtube. We will then host a Play with the Dev live stream to go deeper into the Harvest your Exit feature. We’re already taking in questions; you can start sending them our way on Twitter with the hashtag #DGAMA.

We will see you in the garden!


*Name subject to change
Deathgarden™: BLOODHARVEST

Deathgarden™: BLOODHARVEST is a multiplayer survival action game in which a ruthless hunter tracks and guns down scavengers, desperate individuals trying to survive and escape the Deathgarden

Developer: Behaviour Digital Inc.

Publisher: Behaviour Digital Inc.